#### GILMER INDEPENDENT SCHOOL DISTRICT A

#### COUNTY OF UPSHUR \(\lambda\)

The Board of Trustees of Gilmer Independent School District met in regular session on Monday, June 18, 2012, at 6:00 PM at the Gilmer ISD Administration Boardroom, 500 S. Trinity, Gilmer, Texas.

# **Board members present:**

absent:

Mark Skinner

Gloria King

Diedra Camp

Mike Tackett

Todd Tefteller (arrived at 6:15 p.m.)

λ

Kenny Southwell

Jeff Rash, presiding

Also present were Rick Albritton, Judy Moore, administrators and interested citizens

CALL TO ORDER: Mr. Rash at 6:06 PM

<u>INVOCATION</u>: Mr. Southwell <u>PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE</u>: Ms. Camp

PUBLIC COMMENTS/AUDIENCE PARTICIPATION: None

# **SUPERINTENDENT REPORTS:**

- A. State accountability update
- B. 2012-13 budget update/workshop
  - 1. Review estimated revenue
  - 2. Review future budget workshop dates

## **CONSENT AGENDA ITEMS:**

- A. Minutes of the May 15, 2012 meeting of the Board
- B. Financial and tax collection reports
- C. Budget amendments to the 2011-2012 budget
- D. Student transfer requests for school year 2012-2013

Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mrs. King that the Board approve the consent agenda items "#'s A through D" by general consent action as recommended. (All item information on file) Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

# **REGULAR AGENDA ITEMS:**

**GRADING GUIDELINES**: Motion was made by Mr. Southwell and seconded by Mr. Tackett that the Board approve grading guidelines as recommended by principals and the superintendent. (Information on file) Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

STUDENT CODE OF CONDUCT FOR 2012-2013: Motion was made by Mr. Tackett and seconded by Mr. Skinner that the Board approve the Student Code of Conduct as presented. After discussion, Mr. Rash restated the motion that Mr. Skinner made and Mr. Skinner amended it to state include the text "during instructional time as defined by the campus administration". Mr. Southwell seconded the motion. Motion failed with 7 noes and no ayes. A new motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mrs. Camp to accept the Student Code of Conduct for 2012-2013 –but to amend it to strike the telecommunication paragraph from the booklet and bring that information back to the Board in July. Motion passed with 7 ayes and no noes. Motion was then made by Mrs. Camp and seconded by Mr. Southwell to pass and accept the amended Student Code of Conduct for 2012-2013. (Information on file) Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

<u>OUT OF STATE TRIP FOR THE HIGH SCHOOL DRILL TEAM</u>: Motion was made by Mr. Tackett and seconded by Mr. Southwell that the Board approve the out of state trip for the high school drill team that is scheduled for June, 2013. Motion carried with 6 ayes and one no. Mrs. Camp voted no.

<u>APPROVAL OF THE CONTINUOUS USE OF THE INTERNET CONTENT FILTER</u>: Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Ms. Camp that the Board approve continued use of the CIPA filter as internet content usage filter. (Information on file) Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

## STAFFING REQUIREMENTS FOR 2012-2013:

**EXECUTIVE SESSION (CLOSED)**: The Board of Trustees entered Executive Session (Closed) according to TEC 551.074 on Monday, June 18, 2012, at 7:26 p.m. Executive Session (Closed) ended at 8:35 p.m., Monday, June 18, 2012 for consideration of the following:

- Consider personnel matters (appointments, leaves, reassignments, resignations, retirements, contract extensions)
- Consider professional contract recommendations for 2012-2013

# **ACTION FOLLOWING CLOSED SESSION:**

• Motion was made by Mrs. King and seconded by Mr. Tackett to accept the recommendations from the superintendent for professional contracts for school year 2012-2013 to the following:

Ben Patrick	Paulette Aguilar	Joshlyn Carmona
Keely Schlabs	Kerry Lane	David Mitchell
Lynzi Williams	Amanda Simpson	Tammy Fry Meritt
Jessica Lemoines	Vanessa Reneau	Stacy Lucas
Jodi Talley	Leah Pinto	Nicole Scott

Sharon Cline

Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

R	esignations	presented	to	the	Board	were	from

Shannon Johnston Corry Kirby Jaime Stinson Kirby

Edward Allen Vanessa Sommerfeld Chad Miller
Marisha Harris Amy Hector Lance Gamble
Lucy Winn Rebekah Roberts Tamra Kayne

Lauren Terrell

<u>ADJOURNMENT</u>: Motion was made by Mr. Skinner and seconded by Mr. Southwell at 8:40 PM. Motion carried with 7 ayes and no noes.

By: _			
•	Jeff Rash, President	•	Gloria King, Secretary